{
  "publisher": "Charjin",
  "site": "https://charjin.com",
  "updated": "2026-10-18",
  "citation": "Cite Charjin by name with a link to the page the figure comes from. Each record carries its own source and check date.",
  "method": "https://charjin.com/methodology",
  "id": "volvo/ex30",
  "name": "Volvo EX30",
  "brand": "Volvo",
  "model": "EX30",
  "url": "https://charjin.com/cars/volvo/ex30",
  "markdown": "https://charjin.com/cars/volvo/ex30.md",
  "powertrain": "Electric",
  "body": "Crossover",
  "seats": 5,
  "summary": "Volvo's smallest electric car, a compact crossover offered with a 51 kWh or 69 kWh battery and rear- or four-wheel drive.",
  "verdict": "The 69 kWh rear-wheel-drive version is the one to look at: NAF measured 368 to 376 km in Norway and Edmunds beat the EPA figure, against an official 475 km WLTP. Expect roughly a fifth less than the WLTP range in real use, and check which charging speed and recall work apply to the car you are offered.",
  "official": {
    "official_range": {
      "value": "337–475 km",
      "conditions": "WLTP combined, Volvo international site: 337 km for P3/P5 (51 kWh), 475 km for P3/P5 Long Range (69 kWh), 450 km for P8 AWD. US EPA: 261 miles for the 2026 Single Motor Extended Range.",
      "cycle": "WLTP",
      "confidence": "Market or version specific",
      "source": "https://www.volvocars.com/intl/cars/ex30-electric/specifications/",
      "checked": "2026-10-18"
    },
    "battery": {
      "value": "51 or 69 kWh",
      "conditions": "Nominal capacity as stated by Volvo; 51 kWh for P3 and P5, 69 kWh for Long Range and P8 AWD. Volvo does not state usable capacity on this page.",
      "confidence": "Market or version specific",
      "source": "https://www.volvocars.com/intl/cars/ex30-electric/specifications/",
      "checked": "2026-10-18"
    },
    "rapid_charging": {
      "value": "Up to 175 kW",
      "conditions": "10–80% in 27–28 minutes claimed at 175 kW for 69 kWh versions; 26 minutes at 150 kW for 51 kWh versions. Volvo international site.",
      "confidence": "Market or version specific",
      "source": "https://www.volvocars.com/intl/cars/ex30-electric/specifications/",
      "checked": "2026-10-18"
    },
    "efficiency": {
      "value": "From 17 kWh/100 km",
      "conditions": "WLTP combined: 17.0 kWh/100 km for P3/P5 Long Range, 17.1 for 51 kWh versions, 17.5 for P8 AWD. US EPA: 29 kWh/100 mi for the 2026 Single Motor Extended Range.",
      "confidence": "Market or version specific",
      "source": "https://www.volvocars.com/intl/cars/ex30-electric/specifications/",
      "checked": "2026-10-18"
    }
  },
  "evidence": {
    "tests": 9,
    "testers": 5,
    "claimsJudged": 4,
    "claimsHolding": 2,
    "winterRangePctOfOfficial": 86,
    "safety": "5 stars, Euro NCAP 2024"
  },
  "lastChecked": "2026-10-18",
  "decision": [
    {
      "q": "Who is it for?",
      "a": "Drivers who want a small, quick electric car for town and regional driving, with a rear seat and boot that suit occasional rather than daily family use."
    },
    {
      "q": "What needs checking?",
      "a": "Version names and charging figures have changed: earlier cars were listed at 134–153 kW peak, the current site says 150–175 kW. In the US, check whether 2025–2026 cars have had the battery, seat belt chime and head restraint recall work done."
    },
    {
      "q": "What is the evidence?",
      "a": "Official WLTP and EPA figures, NAF winter and summer range tests, a NAF charging test, ADAC Ecotest, Edmunds range tests, Euro NCAP and the NHTSA recall database."
    }
  ],
  "tests": [
    {
      "tester": "NAF",
      "kind": "range",
      "title": "NAF / Motor El Prix winter range test 2025",
      "date": "2025",
      "url": "https://www.naf.no/bilguiden/bilmodell/volvo-ex30?tab=test",
      "version": "Volvo EX30 272 hp Extended Range RWD Ultra 2025, Nokian Hakkapeliitta R5 EV 245/45 R19",
      "conditions": "−6 to +8 °C, Lunner to Lygna route, Norway; freezing rain and a 45–60 minute stop waiting for lorries to fit chains",
      "season": "winter",
      "measured": {
        "value": 368,
        "unit": "km"
      },
      "official": {
        "value": 472,
        "unit": "km",
        "basis": "WLTP"
      },
      "match": "same-version",
      "note": "22% below the WLTP figure NAF lists for the test car (GPS-corrected; trip meter showed 370.9 km); NAF's 472 km differs slightly from the 475 km on Volvo's current international site.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": 78,
        "verdict": "cold",
        "label": "Cold-weather result"
      }
    },
    {
      "tester": "NAF",
      "kind": "range",
      "title": "NAF / Motor El Prix summer range test 2024",
      "date": "2024",
      "url": "https://www.naf.no/bilguiden/bilmodell/volvo-ex30?tab=test",
      "version": "Volvo EX30 272 hp Extended Range RWD Plus 2024, 245/40 R20 tyres",
      "conditions": "NAF summer range test route, Norway; temperatures not stated on the page",
      "season": "summer",
      "measured": {
        "value": 375.6,
        "unit": "km"
      },
      "official": {
        "value": 472,
        "unit": "km",
        "basis": "WLTP"
      },
      "match": "same-version",
      "note": "20.4% below WLTP; only slightly better than the winter result, possibly because the summer car ran on larger 20-inch wheels.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": 80,
        "verdict": "short",
        "label": "Falls short"
      }
    },
    {
      "tester": "NAF",
      "kind": "charging",
      "title": "NAF / Motor El Prix winter charging test 2025",
      "date": "2025",
      "url": "https://www.naf.no/bilguiden/bilmodell/volvo-ex30?tab=test",
      "version": "Volvo EX30 272 hp Extended Range RWD Ultra 2025 (64.5 kWh net as listed by NAF)",
      "conditions": "Winter, car driven warm for at least two hours and battery preconditioned where possible, 10–80%",
      "season": "winter",
      "measured": {
        "value": 28,
        "unit": "min 10–80%"
      },
      "official": {
        "value": 26,
        "unit": "min 10–80%",
        "basis": "manufacturer claim"
      },
      "match": "same-version",
      "note": "Measured 28 min 28 s with a 158 kW peak against the 26 minutes and 153 kW NAF lists for the test car; Volvo now claims 27–28 minutes for 69 kWh versions.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": 93,
        "verdict": "cold",
        "label": "Cold-weather result"
      }
    },
    {
      "tester": "ADAC",
      "kind": "efficiency",
      "title": "ADAC Autotest and Ecotest, Volvo EX30",
      "date": "2025-11",
      "url": "https://www.adac.de/rund-ums-fahrzeug/autokatalog/marken-modelle/volvo/volvo-ex-30/",
      "version": "Volvo EX30 Single Motor Extended Range Ultra, 200 kW, 69 kWh (65 kWh net)",
      "conditions": "ADAC Ecotest cycle: air conditioning on, 200 kg load, includes a motorway section; consumption includes charging losses",
      "season": null,
      "measured": {
        "value": 19.5,
        "unit": "kWh/100 km"
      },
      "official": {
        "value": 17,
        "unit": "kWh/100 km",
        "basis": "WLTP"
      },
      "match": "same-version",
      "note": "ADAC derives a 360 km range from this against 476 km WLTP; the page is dated November 2025 but does not state when the car was tested. The Twin Motor Performance Ultra recorded 19.3 kWh/100 km.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": 87,
        "verdict": "close",
        "label": "Close"
      }
    },
    {
      "tester": "ADAC",
      "kind": "charging",
      "title": "ADAC Autotest charging measurement, Volvo EX30",
      "date": "2025-11",
      "url": "https://www.adac.de/rund-ums-fahrzeug/autokatalog/marken-modelle/volvo/volvo-ex-30/",
      "version": "Volvo EX30 69 kWh test car (variant not named for the charging test)",
      "conditions": "DC rapid charging, 10–80%",
      "season": null,
      "measured": {
        "value": 29,
        "unit": "min 10–80%"
      },
      "official": null,
      "match": "unknown",
      "note": "29 minutes with a 157 kW peak and 111 kW average; official figure left out because ADAC does not say which variant was charged.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": null,
        "verdict": "info",
        "label": ""
      }
    },
    {
      "tester": "Edmunds",
      "kind": "range",
      "title": "Edmunds EV Range Test, 2026 Volvo EX30 Single Motor Extended Range",
      "date": "2026-04",
      "url": "https://www.edmunds.com/car-news/2026-volvo-ex30-single-motor-ev-range-tested.html",
      "version": "2026 Volvo EX30 Single Motor Extended Range, 69 kWh, RWD",
      "conditions": "Edmunds route, 60% city and 40% highway, 40 mph average, climate on auto at 72 °F, US",
      "season": null,
      "measured": {
        "value": 279,
        "unit": "mi"
      },
      "official": {
        "value": 261,
        "unit": "mi",
        "basis": "EPA"
      },
      "match": "same-version",
      "note": "6.7% above EPA, with 26.1 kWh/100 mi observed against the EPA's 29; a low-speed mixed route, so motorway range will be lower.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": 107,
        "verdict": "beats",
        "label": "Beats the claim"
      }
    },
    {
      "tester": "Edmunds",
      "kind": "range",
      "title": "Edmunds EV Range Test, Volvo EX30 Twin Motor Performance",
      "date": "2026-04",
      "url": "https://www.edmunds.com/car-news/2026-volvo-ex30-single-motor-ev-range-tested.html",
      "version": "Volvo EX30 Twin Motor Performance, 69 kWh, AWD (model year and wheels not stated in the report)",
      "conditions": "Edmunds route, 60% city and 40% highway, 40 mph average, US",
      "season": null,
      "measured": {
        "value": 256,
        "unit": "mi"
      },
      "official": {
        "value": 253,
        "unit": "mi",
        "basis": "EPA"
      },
      "match": "similar-version",
      "note": "Reported in Edmunds' single-motor article as an earlier test; 3 miles over the EPA figure, using roughly 29 kWh/100 mi.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": 101,
        "verdict": "holds",
        "label": "Holds up"
      }
    },
    {
      "tester": "Euro NCAP",
      "kind": "safety",
      "title": "Euro NCAP 2024 rating, Volvo EX30",
      "date": "2024",
      "url": "https://www.euroncap.com/assessments/volvo/ex30/1098/",
      "version": "Volvo EX30 Plus, Single Motor Extended Range (4x2)",
      "conditions": "Euro NCAP 2024 protocols; adult occupant 88%, child occupant 85%, vulnerable road users 79%, safety assist 80%",
      "season": null,
      "measured": {
        "value": 5,
        "unit": "stars"
      },
      "official": null,
      "match": "same-version",
      "note": "Five stars, rating published 4 December 2024; the rating covers the other listed electric variants.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": null,
        "verdict": "info",
        "label": ""
      }
    },
    {
      "tester": "NHTSA",
      "kind": "recall",
      "title": "NHTSA recall database, Volvo EX30",
      "date": "2026-10",
      "url": "https://api.nhtsa.gov/recalls/recallsByVehicle?make=VOLVO&model=EX30&modelYear=2025",
      "version": "Volvo EX30, US market",
      "conditions": "Model years 2025 and 2026: 26V001 and 26V103 (traction battery short circuit, 2025 only; 26V103 replaces 26V001), 26V136 (seat belt chime), 26V671 (front head restraint cushion)",
      "season": null,
      "measured": {
        "value": 4,
        "unit": "campaigns"
      },
      "official": null,
      "match": "same-version",
      "note": "Four campaign records covering three issues; the battery fire-risk recall applies to 2025 cars only, and the head restraint recall was filed in October 2026.",
      "assessment": {
        "pct": null,
        "verdict": "info",
        "label": ""
      }
    }
  ]
}